top of page

Our First Turkey Feast at "Friendsgiving"

I've been meaning to post the story of our first homegrown, home harvested turkey experience, but I've not had time to sit down & scratch it out over the past week. Last weekend our friends Charlie & Jose graciously hosted our annual "Friendsgiving" celebration. Josh & I provided our homegrown turkey "Hank" for the meal. I know it will sound strange to some, it will likely disturb others & it might make total sense to many on my friend list, but this was one of the most rewarding meals I've ever eaten. I raised this bird, gave him a place to roam freely & happily, he feasted on wild berries, garden fresh veggies & whatever grubs & other earthy goodies he could find. From the beginning to the end, to the dinner table, I had a hand in the entire process. For this I am beyond grateful. It was truly a dream come true for me & I am so proud of this slow shift toward health & sustainability we are attempting to make in our lives. I'm overjoyed to have shared this meal with my Virginia family.

ABOVE: Fresh squeezed orange juice for the brine.

ABOVE: Brine - lemons, oranges, garlic, red onion, fresh thyme & Rosemary, salt - soaked bird for about 12 hours.

ABOVE: Wee morning hours - hung bird from clothes line to remove any additional feathers we missed during harvest.

ABOVE: All 28(is) pounds of bird, prepped & ready to share with friends.

ABOVE: Joshy carving our first homegrown, home harvested bird.

ABOVE: Our dear friend Alice agreed to make the gravy from the drippings & it was truly the very best gravy I've ever tasted!

ABOVE: The aftermath of our turkey throw-down!

ABOVE: Friendsgiving! 2015!

ABOVE: Our dream is happening! And yes... I realize we look Grandma & Grandpa(ish) in this photo. ;)


Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page