top of page

Unexpected Gift

Over Valentine’s Day weekend, Josh & I decided to peruse a few local antique shops in Virginia Beach. We had a couple of items in mind for the new house, but for the most part we were just seeking inspiration. I’ve had my heart set on acquiring a few old maps to hang in our home. Specifically I want to do a wall with a map of Southeastern Ohio, where we grew up & where much of our family still lives today. I’d also like to have a map of the Mississippi Gulf Coast, where we lived for a few years prior to moving to Virginia. It will always hold such a special place in our hearts, like a home away from home. A map of Ocracoke Island in North Carolina would be a real gem, as we feel pretty confident our first daughter may have meandered her way into the Universe while we vacationed there one early Fall… Yes, too much information. But a worthy moment in time nonetheless! I’m hoping to find a large map of the Upper Peninsula of Michigan as well. Much of our family is from right outside of Detroit & we have relatives who own a wonderfully quaint motel & array of rustic cabins, surrounded by the mystical north woods of St. Ignace, right across Lake Michigan from Mackinac Island. The Balsam’s Resort (surrounded by balsam trees – how’d ya guess?!) holds such precious memories for us. Our middle daughter took her first steps & celebrated her very first birthday there. On our last visit, I was pregnant with our son & we basically chose his name while chilling out beneath a moonlit sky. I’m always keeping my eye out for these old treasures & I know I’ll stumble upon them throughout life, probably when I least expect it. After all that’s how things seem to happen. So while we were antiquing, I mentioned to Josh how cool it would be to find a map of the waterways surrounding the Chesapeake Bay & vicinity. A few days later, we’re out at the farm & Josh happens to be poking around in the attic above the garage. Guess what he stumbles upon, covered in dust & just waiting for an awesome chunky, primitive, reclaimed wooden frame? Sure enough, a map of the Chesapeake Bay. Put it out there people. Be open. Let it flow. Amazing how things – materialistic, emotional, spiritual, intellectual – find us when we toss inspiration out, to get tangled in the Universe. A cherished housewarming gift for certain.

Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page